My Roundabout Way to France

On Monday 19 October, instead of working, I started my odyssey to Narbonne, France. I took the Metro to Centrale, went to one of Milan’s three airports on a shuttle bus from there, then boarded a plane to Barcelona, took another shuttle bus into the city center, walked to Barcelona Sants train station, got on a TGV train to Paris, got off the train in Narbonne and then got lost in the medieval streets of this little French town until I found the hostel my sending organization BIQ had booked.

You may frown now and ask yourself “Whyyyy?”. Because that was the cheapest way of getting there. And why did I travel to Narbonne in the first place? Because the first in-between seminar (I legit just made up that expression) was being held there. And what’s the seminar for? Personally, I had looked forward most to seeing my volunteer friends again. Technically though, the seminar is supposed to accompany our volunteer services pedagogically. You play team games, cooperation games, energizers, you present your location, you talk about problems and you do lots of other pedagogically valuable things.

And yes, in the picture, the white little thingies on the horizon are actually the Alps!

Leave a comment